which equipment to choose? switch from contax t2 to digital

philip_buttmann

<p>hi,<br /> it came to several interesting themes during the several last threads. Still I am in search for the right equipment.<br /> my standard ist has been contax t2. i will need to switch to a camera which comes very close to the technical aspects of this camera and the lens but which is digital. please enter this thread if you can relate to the optical workings of the Contax T2. Please no general and only quite serious answers. I am doing research on a most perfectly euivalent to this camera since quite a while and am very sincere about it. Still, I am a beginner and haven't yet found the right solution.<br /> please also have a look at new pictures as for example these three by the photographer Wolfgang Tillmans who has switched from analogue Contax to a Digital Camera in his new series :<br /><br /></p>

<p> </p>

<blockquote>

<p>I am doing research on a most perfectly euivalent to this camera</p>

</blockquote>

<p>I'll say it right upfront, I have never used a Contax T2 or seen one in the flesh, but I too started out with one particular film camera that I used for many, many years, and was very attached to. If it wasn't for digital technology coming along, I'd still be happily shooting with that camera. I spend considerable time and effort looking for a digital equivalent, and learned in that process that there never is one. Due to various aspects such as instant feedback and negligible cost per shutter click, the digital image capturing process is inherently different from the same process involving film. To the best of my knowledge, nobody has ever produced a camera that is available in a digital as well as a film version, but otherwise identical. I think there is a reason for that.</p>