Which digital back for my Contax 645 using Zeiss lenses?

Jean-Claude

Dear all,

I ow a Contax 645 MF camera and 4 Zeiss lenses:

Distagon 45 f2.8//Planar 80 f2//Sonnar 140 f2.8//Sonnar 210 f4

I also ow a EIZO screen FS2331.

Since I am very new to the digital world, what digital back would you recommand on my hardly used Contax 645 and why?

(I recently bought a Nikon D610 and use my old traditional prime lenses on it and I am very happy with the results.).

I read former Zeiss prime lenses were built to suit negatives and are not suited for todays digital technology. I am an amateur meaning I never print digital, never. Should I love one of my digital photos in particular, I would then rely on a professional printer to make the best of it.

Thank you for your precious help and advice.

Bonne soirée,

Jean-Claude, Brussels

Good model digital backs (even not-so-good models) with Contax 645 mount are in very high demand but very limited supply. Unless you get lucky and find exactly the back you want when ready to purchase, you'll probably need to "settle" for whatever back becomes available to you in Contax mount at a reasonable price. Backs for Hasselblad V, Hasselblad H and Mamiya/Phase mount are far more common in much greater variety to choose from.

The Phase P45 recommended by coronawithlime is excellent, if you can find it and afford it. Other models in that Phase lineup are also good, with the P30 being especially popular with Contax users. P25 and P25+ are the cheapest "full frame" models, with sensors closer to 6x4.5 film frame. But they have the larger "fat pixels" which are good in some ways and bad in others. Many prefer the "fat pixel" colors and tones over other sensor designs, but they are very prone to moire issues when shooting fashion or portraiture. If you see a nice Leaf back in Contax mount, consider that as well. Leaf and Phase both use the excellent Capture One raw file software to maximum benefit.