Which Blue & Gold Polarizer

daniel_christensen1

Hello to all. I'm interested in a new Gold & Blue Polarizer. Are

there alternatives to the Singh-Ray 52mm circular at $160.00. In

other words is there a vender that makes this same filter for less

money that will acheive the same effect. I would apprreciate comments

from anyone that has ever used this filter. Thanks, Dan

I have the Singh Ray Blue & Gold and really like the effects you can get with it. In fact, the effect can be too intense and I find that it is worth 'dialing down' the effect a bit. I believe another company makes one for cheaper...I would check the B&H website, it might be Tiffen if I recall correctly. But I have no experience with that one.

I've bought Cokin circ polarizer couple of years back not knowing the brand and quality. When ever I tried it, it gave me bad result especially with velvia. So I was arguing with my friends about pol. filter. But I found that the quality of the filter has a lot to do with it. Cokin is good for the price. But they are not the best. There's a huge difference in quality if you comapre Cokin with Nikon. I'm talking mainly about polarizing filter. I have another experience with warm filter. I got B+W skylight filter and found their color is not that greate. Instead of getting 'golden' color you are getting a 'muddy' color. Then I heard German filters are best with German glass. I'm not sure. Anyway I like Nikon here too. Hoya would be my second choice. I've stacked Circular polarizer and warm filter together with nice effect. The scan doesn't tell you everything, but will give you an idea...

Hi Daniel,

I am not aware of any other company making specifically Gold and Blue Polarisers other than Singh-Ray.

Cokin do make the Blue-Yellow Polariser listed above in 67 square or 82 mm squares.