which 4x5 system is best for macro photography?

joanne_stein

Hello :)

I would like to get a 4x5 camera - macro capabilities are the most

important factor to me in deciding which camera to go with. But I

really don't know what the factors are and what is better for macro.

I have never used large format before and I don't know much about it,

so I am not sure what to look for or what factors to compare.

Most of my work would be done in the studio, so portability is not so

much of an issue ... I would just like to be able to get as close as

possible. :)

Preferably I would like to buy a used system, from eBay or the like,

because I am a student and don't have all that much money to spend :)

thank you

joanne~*

I think you are pretty much looking at a monorail system. Which one depends upon your budget, preferences etc.

I would suggest a camera with full movements (which most monorail cameras have), long extension and interchangeable bellows. When you are doing macro work, you really can use all the movements the camera has got (even rear rise and shift). You also want a long monorail or the ability to add on a longer rail or extension rail. Arca Swiss, Sinar, Toyo all make good cameras. Budget priced lines can be had from Calumet or old Kodaks. If you want to go really cheap, you can make your own with a kit from www.bender.com, although I think there are enough cheaper cameras that you don't NEED to go this route.

Look at http://www.largeformatphotography.info/listcameras.html to read some camera reviews. Lots of field cameras but also some monorails.

Cheers, DJ

I've used Sinar C, Arca-Swiss F-line and Canham DLC cameras

for close up work, which I'm defining as being in the range of 1:4

to 1:1 ratio (subject to size on film).<P>What are you

photographing? Geared movements, especially on the rear

standard make a huge difference in the world of photographing

small thing, so see if you can find a used Sinar C, P or X camera