Where to research to buy a new camcorder?

greglyon

Hi, I'm a long time photographer, but quite a camcorder novice. It's time to

buy one and I've been researching a bit but thought I could use some help.

<p>Couple questions:<ol>

<li>What websites do you use to research camcorders?</li>

<li>What features would you consider important?</li>

</ol>

<p>My #1 use for the camcorder will be family stuff, but I'd like <em>some</em>

creative/fun control as well.

<p>

I've used <a href="http://www.consumerreports.org">Consumerreports.org</a>

(with a grain of salt), and found <a

href="http://www.easycamcorders.com">EasyCamcorders.com</a>, but there doesn't

seem to be a lot out there...or maybe I'm not searching correctly!

<p>

The models I've been interested in so far range from US ~330 to 580. I think

I'd like MiniDV, right? so I've limited myself to that. I was most interested

in the JVC GR-DF550 (at least in part due to stop motion and intervalometer)

and the 3ccd Panasonic PV-GS150.

<p>

Any advice or suggestions you can offer would be greatly appreciated!

A 3-CCD camera worth considering will be well outside of your stated budget. These cameras have significantly better resolution and resistance to smearing and blooming. The good ones are large and on the heavy side. I'm partial to the Canon XL2 or JVC DVR500 (which takes standard DV 2 hour tapes).

Editing and effects are often promoted but of little use in practice. Plan to shoot everything and edit off-line. Magazines such as "Consumer's Report" help you with the vocabulary, but usually over-emphasize features and effects.