Where to buy B&W roll film in Japan?

juke

I have heard that normal photoshops in Japan does not sell slide and/or black &

white films. They sell only mostly used tourist films.

<p>So I need some helpful information. Any good shops in Tokyo, Kyoto and

Hiroshima that have good selection of B&W films in 120 size?

<p>I take lot of film to my Japan trip, but you never gonna know what happens,

so it is important to know some shops where I can buy some film :)

<p>Thank You.

2 years ago, there was those big shops in the Shinjuku area in Tokyo, behind the Keio department store. I found some 120 films there that I, unfortunately couldn't find anywhere else, great choice, I'm sure those shops are still there.

Forget about Kyoto, there's only one shop, I don't remember where, and I'm not sure they have 120 film. Go to Tokyo first to buy all you need, and then go to Kyoto.

By the way, try to spend a day or two in Nara...

I'm fairly new to Japan, but have some experience in this department. It's true that the typical small shops will only stock consumer print film and maybe a handful of slide films, but go to Top Camera, Bic Camera or any of the other big photo/electronics stores and you should have no problem finding a decent selection. The pro photo labs also seem to stock film, Horiuchi has Kodak and Pro Lab Create, has Fuji. Tokyo is similar to NY, you'll have many, many options. But I'm in Nagoya and haven't had any trouble finding 120 B&W film. Diafine on the other hand...

I do find it is more expensive than in the U.S., but I used to live in NY with B&H, Adorama, etc, so maybe I'm spoiled.

Take a look at PhotoGuide Japan for some specific locations:

http://photojpn.org/dir/listings.php?cmd=viewlistB&cid=36

Hi Jukka,