Where is the best place to sell my very gently used DSLR?

rachel_dean

<p>Hi all,<br>

I am trying to sell my very gently used Olympus E-600 DSLR and I have tried Ebay without success and don't know where else to post. I did just post on this site too. I am looking to upgrade my camera and can't do that without selling mine first! I am very new to this photography business and need help knowing where and how to sell!<br>

Thanks,<br>

Rachel</p>

<p>As Rob says, maybe you're just asking too high a price for a starting bid.<br>

The Olympus E-600 sells new for about US$750 and is still widely sold. Used camera and one lens on eBay have sold only below $500 as a rule -- the exceptions are for used ones with a bunch of lenses for the camera.</p>

<p>It is true that a lot more are being offered on eBay than are being sold.</p>

<p>No matter what you paid for it, its value is what somebody else will pay for it. You might find somebody on Craigslist who will pay more, but I wouldn't bet on it.</p>

<p>You will reach the widest potential audience of buyers via eBay. If you "tried without success" on eBay, then either your minimum asking price was too high, or your presentation needs work (<strong>clear sharp photos</strong> of the item for sale are very important). You also need to stand behind the sale and accept returns. If you offer something like an expensive digital camera with a "No returns" policy, that is only going to discourage interest in the item for many buyers. Also, you may have to re-list an item several times for it to sell, but if your price is realistic it will eventually sell.</p>

<p>You may get a higher net return by selling locally via Craigslist or similar, but obviously your potential buying audience will be much smaller, particularly if you do not live in a large city.</p>

<p>keep in mind that KEH and other stores follow the motto - "we're in this to make money - not lose it..."</p>