Where can I get a lensboard and lens for a 8x10 Burke and James View Camera?

Hi all

I have a Burke and James View Camera and really would love to use this camera. My aim is to take 8x10 Polaroids with it so need a few more pieces but hopefully on the way there. I really need to get a lensboard and lens for the camera, is it possible to source any of these kind of cheaply? I am having trouble sourcing these and not sure what I am looking for. I'm new in the game and excited to learn how to use this camera!

Any help much appreciated.

Some notes on restoring an 8x10 Burke and James View Camera describes how to make a lensboard

As for lenses, without knowing more about what you want to do the best suggestion is to start with a normal lens. 300mm +/-, 12 inches +/-. You'll need a lens in shutter, and one that isn't a telephoto. If you don't know the difference between a long focus lens (that's what you want) and a telephoto, look it up.

You characterized yourself as an enthusiastic beginner. Take a cold shower, go slowly and educate yourself before spending more money. Go to A large format photography home page and read the FAQs. The first post in this

https://www.largeformatphotography.info/forum/showthread.php?138978-Where-to-look-for-information-on-LF-(mainly)-lenses

discussion has a link to a large list of links to information that LF photographers find useful. One of the sections is a discussion of books on LF photography. Get one of the ones mentioned and study it.

Edited by dan_fromm|2
  • Like 2