when would you use 24mm f/1.4G?

rick_chen

<p>Hi Guys,<br>

The 24mm f/1.4G was my wife's favorite lens when she has a D5100. I on the other hand use the 24-70 most of the time. We own them for about 2 years. After my wife switched over to full frame D600 she did not touch the 24mm again, she went to the 35mm f/1.4G and now she is in love with the Sigma 35mm f/1.4 for her wedding shoots. The 24-70 is my go to lens for weddings as well.<br>

I just realized I did not bring my 24mm out much at all, other than sometimes when I want to take some real estate quick snap shots and just need a light lens to bring along.<br>

My question to photographers: when do you use your 24mm f/1.4G, over the 24-70? I know you can shoot wide open at f/1.4 in a dark room, but this lens is not sharp wide open, especially if you dont shoot closeups. The lens is so rarely used in my bag, but it's a nice lens I feel like I want to keep it if I do need it some day. Perhaps I am not very good at 24mm, but please, enlighten me with how you will use it to create beautiful images? share your thoughts about when and why you would use it over the 24-70? In weddings, 24mm can have its share of distortions on the people at certain angles..<br>

Thanks for all comments</p>

<p><em>when do you use your 24mm f/1.4G, over the 24-70?</em></p>

<p>I use it over the 24-70 when I am shooting in extremely low light and want to obtain more ambient light into the pictures, and/or when I want a dreamy feel with beautiful out of focus rendition (which is unusual for a wide angle). I use the 24 over the 35 prime when I want to get a more dynamic feel to my indoor or nighttime people photographs, and perhaps more environment than when using the 35mm. The drawback is the tricky focusing of the 24/1.4.</p>

<p><em> this lens is not sharp wide open, especially if you dont shoot closeups</em></p>