when to use 18-55mm vs 55-250mm

zdz

<p>I'm new to DSLR photography. Just received Canon XSI this week with EF-S 18-55 and 55-250 IS lenses. I know<br>

conceptually 18-55 is normal/wide angle and 55-250 is telephoto. But since I don't have any experience with any<br>

lenses, can someone tell me in exactly what situation to use one lenses vs the other. I would like to take photos<br>

of my kids in soccer game, swim meets or family vacations, and possibly some shots of nature or landscape. thanks.</p>

<p>You'll probably find the 18-55 useful for most everyday use and the landscapes. The 55-250 is a telephoto, usually used for subjects at a distance (the soccer players, for example, or wildlife you can't get close to). It has some other uses as well, such as portraits (take several steps back and shoot with the lens in the 55-100 range, the distance from the subject will give what is usually considered a more flattering perspective).</p>

<p>Personally I would not use a zoom lens for any of my Canon Cameras, They are traditionally slower than fixed format and you have issues with vibration and wear, (causes blurred images). I am not sure if you understand what is meant by fast or slow lenses, but the widest aperture is where it is judged. a Canon 50mm f/1.2 is probably the fastest lens you will find now, (I believe they had a 1.0 in a 50mm FD) the fastest Canon EF zoom lens you will find is a 17-55mm f/2.8 which runs about $1300 new, (if you can find one) under $500.oo the fastest you may find is f/3.5 to 5.6...<br>

I use an EF 24mm f/1.8 and a 100mm f/2.8 Macro, (each is around $500 new) which does me just fine, the 100 is an excellent Portrait lens. I can get close up to a models face without having to be so close as to create a comfort issue, and you may discover when you are close to an object, Items closest to the lens will appear larger than normal, (ie ever seen a huge nose on a photo of an attractive girl?).<br>