When Do Amateur Photograophers Become Professional Photographers?

bruce_mattes

<p>The photo.net insurance thread got me to thinking along the following lines, so I decided to start this thread..</p>

<p>I am a photographer that currently has no plans on selling any of his work..I do not feel that my images are up to the standards necessary for commercial sales..I also have no plans on ever working for pay as a photographer..To do so for me would take the casualness and joy out of what I consider a hobby..To pursue photography for money would require a completely different mindset..One which I currently have no intentions of adopting..</p>

<p>I pose the following questions to those photographers here on PN that earn their living by photography..</p>

<p>Do amateur photographers become professional photographers in the eyes of the law as soon as they receive payment for that first photograph?..Do their responsibilities and liabilities change at that moment?..Do they start needing a different kind of insurance policy?..Do they put their families, home,jobs, businesses at risk by selling images for money?..At what point does an amateur photographer morph into a professional photographer?.</p>

<p>I am not asking about the quality of one's photography as regards to their level of professionalism..This is another topic entirely..I am simply asking these questions from a legalistic point of view..</p>

<p>Thanks for your input..</p>

<p>Bruce</p>

<p> </p>

<p><em>"Do amateur photographers become professional photographers in the eyes of the law as soon as they receive payment for that first photograph?"</em></p>

<p>You need to be more concerned about the taxman than the lawman -- if you are claiming you are in business as a photographer.</p>

<p>The simple answer is you start to become a professional when clients/friends/relatives start relying on you to deliver the product you promise to deliver.</p>