What's the advantage of DNG?

bert gildart

In my posting yesterday about my new Nikon D300, and Adobe's requirement that I

upgrade to Photoshop CS3 (that's what a Rep said I must do) and my frustrations

about a seeming lack of synchronization between the two companies, several

people responded saying that I could have downloaded the DNG Converter and

turned my D300 NEFs into DNGs (whatever that is?). This, they said, was an

alternative to purchasing Photoshop CS3 and might even be a preferable format.

That now raises another question.

I started several years ago with Nikon Picture Project. Pictures here were all

created as Raw images. Is there any advantage now(and is it possible?) to

convert all these thousands of images taken with my older D200 to DNG, a format

several have spoken highly of?

I'm an old film photographer and though I went digital several years ago (Nikon

Super Coolscan 5000 to convert film plus the real thing, a Nikon D200) I'm

finding there's a steep learning curve in this ongoing transition. However, I'm

learning that many of the answers I need are right here on this forum, and thank

those who are helping make this transition easier. I get more info here than I

do from several other organizations to which I belong.

Sincerely,

Bert

Bert the DNG image file format was developed by Adobe as a platform for camera producers to export their camera specific image files into a format that can be read by any image processing software. The claimed idea was to facilitate image processing across different producers of hardware and software.

Many users like the idea as an obvious solution to problems similar to the ones you just experienced. Some concern was voiced since this would strengthen the near monopoly position of Adobe and probably reduce market shares (and profit)of competing companies.

So far I think only one camera producer adopted the file format as an output option in their products.