What to do with Nikon D5000 NEF files?

<p>As stated, I have a Nikon D5000 and I am saving my photos in the Nikon raw format. I am doing this because I am just learning how to "fix" my photos. My problem is that I have Photoshop CS3 which only has the Adobe Camera Raw 4.6 plugin which of course does not support my camera. CS3 will not open my NEF files. The only solution I have come up with is to convert the file using DNG Converter and then open the DNG file with CS3. I could be wrong but I believe DNG is not a RAW format so when the photos are converted, information is lost. This brings up two problems for me. Since I want the file with as much information as possible, I have to keep the NEF file. To work with this file in CS3, I have to keep the DNG file. So I have two somewhat large versions of every one of my files. The other problem is that if I just accept some information loss and keep only the DNG file, then I can only open and view my photos in CS3 which is clunky if I'm not editing anything and just viewing them. Does anybody have any suggestions about which formats I should be using and saving. I'm aware that I could just get CS4 and this would not be an issue but it's a little expensive and only a last resort.</p>

<p>I tried to grapple with this when I first got my LS4000. I quickly decided that I should just save my scans as TIFFs.</p>

<p>My impression, from what I read in the manual at that time, was that the scanning program's NEF format was unique to the scanner and not the same as the NEF that you get from Nikon's cameras, so I'm now surprised that you can convert them to DNG using the converter! So I guess I'll have to go back and re-study this situation.</p>