What to charge for day care photography

jimgreenlee

I may have the opportunity in the next couple months to take on doing some

some professional pictures for a day care, but have no idea what to charge.

Currently I've done weddings and portraits but nothing quite like day care, so

if any one out there has any experience in this particular type of photography

any help you can offer would be greatly appreciated. My website is

www.essencephotobcs.com if you want to see what I currently charge for other

stuff and make a judgement off of that. Thanks

James,

I'm a teacher in addition to being a photographer, and when I think about what the photographers who do our school pictures charge, I don't even think I could charge those prices even if I printed at Sam's Club! On the other hand, for senior portraits, some of the kids who DON'T come to me for portraits say they spent up to $900 on their senior portraits.

I see that you charge $10 for an 8x10. A reasonable option might be to charge $10 for the 8x10 and break down the prices from there - to simplify your order form. You might charge $5 for 4 wallets, $2.50 for a 4x6, $5 for a 5x7. You could sell ONLY in "sheets," where people would have to choose 2-4x6's and a 5x7, or 8 wallets, or 4 wallets and 2-4x6's. Just an idea....

By the way, I did portraits at my last school dance in June and sold a 5x7 or 4 wallets for $5 (that's all I offered) - I went home with over in $500 cash that night (for a 3 hour dance) and only spent about $80 on prints. A little bit of profit on each print can go a long way.

Jen

My advice is more along the what not to do lines. I printed one shot of each kid at 5x7 and charged $10. My biggest problem was people taking the photos without paying. hey didn't mean to stiff me, they just forgot (I choose to believe this!).