What should I buy Canon 5d or Canon 24-70mm 2.8?

Discussion in 'Canon EOS' started by rodrigo_rocha|1, Nov 28, 2011.

1. Hi guys,
    This is my first post to this forum and this is kind of a weird question.
    This is my gear:
    Canon 7d
    Canon 70-200L f/4
    Canon 28-135 3.5-5.6 (kit lens)
    Canon 50mm f/1.4 (I love this prime)
    Tokina 11-16 f/2.8
    1 x 580ex ii
    2 x 430ex ii
    Plus (cokin filters, umbrellas, backdropins, etc)
    The question is should i invest next on a full frame camera(5d) or i should buy the Canon 24-70L 2.8?
    I don't know what to do...
    Thanks,
    Rodrigo

2. The question is, why do you want either of them? Without a clear answer to that, no one can help you!

3. Hi Alireza,
    Well, I'm just a hobbyist who "wanna be" a photographer. I've been doing a lot of portrait shots for friends, etc. Some other people saw some of my pics and they asked me if I could do their wedding ceremony. I told them that I would do it but NOT as a main photographer (I would do it for free just for practicing). I think it is a moment to important to screw everything up!
    You know the Canon 7d not being a full frame you lose some depth of field. On the other side Canon 24-70L 2.8 is a fast lens, I would be able to shoot under some poor lighting conditions...
    Thanks again,
    Rodrigo

4. david_henderson

david_henderson www.photography001.com

How do you find your current equipment restrictive? What sort of photographs would you like to make or make better than you can do right now? Unless your work is being held back in some way by your equipment choices, why do you need anything? Most people don't think in terms of a constant process of pouring money into the "improvement" of their kit- they think in terms of "do I have the equipment required to allow me to take the photographs I want to the standard I need or hope for?