What portrait lens for my D60?

juretta_gabbert

<p>Hi!<br>

I have a Nikon D60 and only have the lenses the kit came with originally. I'm ready to branch out a little and want a portrait lens I can use with this camera. I don't really want to spend $400 for the AF-S lenses :( Keep in mind I'm very new to photography, but I do want to get the most bang for my buck...vs starting small and having to upgrade again in the near future. Any suggestions?<br>

Thanks! </p>

<p>Hi Juretta. What are the lenses your D60 kit came with? How much do you realistically see yourself spending? Do you envision a 'portrait' as full-body? Upper body? Head & shoulders? Will your portraits be taken mainly indoors or out? If indoors, do you see yourself using flash regularly? Also, especially if indoors, how much space between you and your subject? Do you object to buying used?</p>

<p>This seems like a lot of questions, but your answering as many of them as possible will help to zero in on as good an answer to your question as possible. i.e., if you were to ask simply what is the best portrait lens for my D60 (?), many might answer the <a href="http://www.adorama.com/NK8514AFDU.html">Nikon 85mm f/1.4 IF AF</a>, at well over $1000.00. To come up with a proper lens for your budget, as much info as possible will be helpful.</p>

<p>A good portrait lens on a DX format camera like your D60 would be a 50mm lens. If you don't get an AF-S lens, it won't autofocus on your camera. If that's not a problem for you, then the Nikon 50mm f/1.8 AF-D would work. It costs new around $125. The 50mm f/1.4 AF-S "G" lens would be another one to look at as it will autofocus on your D60, but it costs around $450.</p>

<p>Thanks for the quick responses so far - let's see how I do<br>

What are the lenses your D60 kit came with? 18mm-55mm and 55mm-200mm<br>

How much do you realistically see yourself spending? I would prefer to spend under $200<br>