I have not cut my own mats in years. Had a friend with a frame shop

that did it for me on a barter basis. Now he has retired and I need

to get a mat cutter. From what I have seen the two choices are either

Logan or Altos but I am totally ignorant on the subject. I can tell

you that the Dexter type hand cutters never worked for me ... I can't

cut a straight line to save my soul.

I will not have high volume, perhaps 2-5 a week max. Mostly

11x14/10x15 openings on a 16x20 board. Some 16x20 openings on larger

boards but hardly ever anything larger than that.

Any and all advice and experience appreciated.

I have been using the Logan Simplex 301 for over 10 years now. For the size and volume you are talking about it should be fine. It doesn't have all the fancy features and large openings over 20x24 can get tricky but all in all it works great and for around $100.00 you cannot go wrong.

I went through a very frustrating period with mats. Several local framers did sloppy work. In despairation, I bought a C&H cutter. I endured a learning curve with it. Yes, it was expensive. However, it is a wonderful machine. Is there a chance you could cut mats for other photographers in your area to help offset the cost?

Two practical suggestions: 1) Change blades often, whatever cutter you use. Buy a pack of 100 to start. 2) Start with mats already cut to size. I have used Light Impressions presized board with good results. Yes, they cost more, but not having to cut them to size eliminates a whole set of errors.