What lighting is needed for inside photo shoot?

jenna_bboso

I am just a beginner.

I am organising a photoshoot inside with a model and have organised a white background. I have a DSL

Canon camera. I have no lighting but i am going to hire it.

I was wondering if anyone could please give me suggestions on the minimum/basic lighting i would need.

Cheers!

This is pretty vague Jenna. It's a little like saying "I'm cooking dinner; I've got a big pot;

what are the minimum ingredients I need to make a meal?"

The minimum lighting you need is a good window. You do a lot with a clean background,

good model, and decent window light. Since you say you are just a beginner, I'm assuming

this is not a job, but rather a learning experience and that your model will be patient and

willing to let you experiment. I suggest starting slowly: one light, a softbox, and a

reflector. This is pretty hard to screw up and you will learn a lot--especially since you will

get quick feedback from the digital camera. Move the light around: try different angles,

move it close and far, and take notes. If you expect to have a lot of time with your model,

rent two or three lights (either a few monolights, or a pack with three heads) and as the

day goes on try lighting the background and adding fill. Make sure you get all the little

things like stands and a flash meter--the rental shop will certainly be willing to help you

out in that department. Good luck, and have fun with it.

Agreed - a window and reflector often is good enough.

Next level - either hot lights (continuous) or strobes. You can literally go to Home Depot and get a shop light to use as your main light source. Easy, you can see exactly what you're getting as you move the light around, shadows etc.

Studio strobes a bit more complicated as you'll need to learn to use them.