What kind of camera for photography school?

Hi -- I hope to start a photography program next fall, maybe a shorter

certificate program at a place like Hallmark or CDIABU or maybe a master's

program at somewhere like NESOP. What kind of camera would people recommend that

would be good for these types of programs? I am a beginner with DSLRs but I am

fine with buying a camera that is not necessarily for beginners. I was thinking

of buying a Nikon D80 -- is this a good choice for this type of program? I can

probably afford to buy something a little more expensive than this too. Is there

any lens/lenses that I should buy to start? I can always buy more later, but I

just want to know what the very minimal basics I would need to start...thanks

for your help!

Hi J Anon -- Thanks! Yeah, that makes sense; I guess I just didn't want to wait until I am accepted to a school (assuming that happens) to start taking photos and I am not ready to apply just yet. So I was hoping some people on the forum might be able to tell me what camera was likely to be acceptable/used in this type of program. It is more likely that I would do a certificate program than a master's program and as I mentioned, I can probably afford something a little more expensive than a D80. Maybe I will contact a few schools and ask them as well...

you need to ask the school .... Hallmark will not accept any cameras, but rather gives you the camera of their choice to use ... it's part of the tuition cost and what they told me was that if you want to use another camera other than the one they provide you, you have to make a very strong argument

the other schools have a list of acceptable cameras - so you really have to call and ask