What is the difference between Silver Oxide and Alkaline Batteries?

jason michael

I was recently purchasing some new batteries for my FE, FM3A, and Mamiya 6 and

came to the observation that all three cameras have the choice of Silver Oxide

batteries, SR44, or Alkaline batteries, LR44. I would basically like to know people's

experience with these differing batteries and especially how they function at lower

temperatures (I am based in Toronto, Canada and the autumn is upon us (which of

course leads to our, at times, brutal winters)).

I am well aware of the differences between Lithium batteries and Alkaline batteries

but I have no experience with the Silver Oxide batteries.

Sincerely,

In that form factor, I have always considered alkaline batteries a 'last resort'. Silvers in an FE can run the camera for 2-3 years (though it's a good habit to change your batteries on your birthday anyway, sort of like smoke detectors). Alkalines seem to poop out in 6 months or so for me. The lithium ('double stack', works in the FE and FM3a, I don't know about the Mamiya) has the best 'shelf life', and is the one I have squirreled into the bowels of my camera bag in case I need one.

I *suspect* (no real experience) that the lithium might be the cold weather champ as well.

The usual choice for the Nikons is between 2 stacked 1.5v Silver Oxides (S76, SR44 etc) or a single 3v lithium (forget the #s). The silver Ox are best for a camera that gets used constantly, the lithiums are best for a camera that spends most of its time on the shelf.

Alkalines are not a good long life choice especially in brutal winters! Not sure about the M6 batteries, if they are stacked, then you can use the lithium, if there is just one, or they are side-by side, use silver.