What is the best setting for hockey pictures

jessica_flowers

(Edited by moderator. Please use punctuation and, you know, sentences.)

I just got a Canon EOS Rebel T2. I've never used film before.I also got a 75-300mm lens. I'm taking hockey pictures tomorrow and I've been told not to use manual focus and to use AI Servo AF. But I can't figure out how to put my camera in that mode. I followed all the instructions but it's not working. I was also told to change the aperture to 1600 but thats not changing either. Any advice will help. Thanks.

I guess you should shoot with the 70-300 then. The problem is, is that the aperture goes from f/4 to f/5.6 as you zoom from 70 to 300. Meaning at 70mm your aperture will be f/4 (the lower the "f" number the more light the lens lets in), at about 90mm it changes to 4.5....then around 135mm it again changes to 4.5. Truthfully you need a lens with an aperture better than f/4 but you can do somewhat ok at f/4 or f/4.5. So dont zoom out past 135mm. Unfortunately that means that if you are standing at the goal line, and shooting the goalie, he/she will be maybe half the height of the shortest dimension of the picture area. Another unfortunate is that at f/4.5 with a film speed of 800 ISO (or ASA) you will probably be shooting at 1/160th of a second shutterspeed. I say ISO of 800 because that is the highest color film goes. That means if the people are in action, they will be blurred. so try to time your shot for that moment they tend to slow down or stop.......or reach the peak of the action....like RIGHT at the slap shot........or right when the goalie drops to the ice.