what is the best flash(speedlite) for canon 300d?(i need a answer)

natalie_booker

Im studying photography with the intention of becoming professional.

I have been using the 300D for 12mths but may upgrade in a few

months. What is my best option for a flash? I hear the 430 is too

basic but also hear of problems associated with underexposure with

the 580.. Any suggestions?

"I hear the 430 is too basic but also hear of problems associated with underexposure with

the 580.. Any suggestions?"

The 430EX has most of the features of the 580EX save master ability for wireless, so it's

far from basic. Perhaps you confused it with the 420EX?

All flash metering systems have idiocycrasies and are far from perfect. With a little

intelligence and practice you can learn these idiocycrasies and counter them with manual

overrides. I used the 420EX with my 10D for 3 years and rarely got a bad flash exposure.

Of course if I used it mindlessly on full auto it would have overexposed by +2/3 EV 90% of

the time. Pretty predictable and easy to fix with FEC. I'm sure you can learn to do the same

with any combo.

Sometimes the light’s all shining on me. Other times I can barely see.

- Robert Hunter

Any exposure problems asociated with the 580EX would be the same on the 430EX, since the flash exposure is determined by the camera body.

It appears the Canon deliberatly sets up their DSLRs to underexpose a bit with flash to keep the highlights from blowing out as this is the most common complaint you hear. However, a lot of people report no exposure problems and some people report a slight overexposure with flash. Sounds like either an adjustment problem or different people's different expectations. In any case dialing in Flash Exposure Compensation (FEC) is easy enough on Canon's other DSLRs. Some people rutinely set it at +1 and leave it there unless they have to adjust for something specific.