What is Nikon thinking

studor13

I did a quick read-up on the D60 and believe that for around $600 or 1/3 of the

price of the D300 it will do almost everything I NEED except for one thing -

Bracketing!

As a landscape photography, either you use grad NDs - which I don't - or you

bracket your shots.

If and when I am a pro I will get a D300, but something like a D60 would be good

enough for me as a backup if it had this one feature. Nikon would end up selling

me two cameras. As it is they they've sold me none.

So why is it so hard for Nikon to put this feature in? It went missing in the

D40 and the D40X. Does it cost a lot?

BTW, I have a D70 which is good enough but is starting to play up and could die

when I need it most. And this is why I'm looking for a replacement.

You asked: Does it cost a lot?

As a single element, probably not. But then there are other features that are not there. At some point they probably had to make a list of things to keep out either to keep the internal program size down (smaller cheaper chip), or because they want to keep the menu simple for their target clients. Many of the features of the D300 are useless to someone doing landscapes.

If you want bracketing and, for landscape, you want mirror delay get a D80. This is a camera targeted to the "serious" amateur. It has D70 style jpg (if you use jpg) compare to the D40/60 with punched up jpg styled to please casual photographers.

BTW I have a D80 and I never use the bracketing feature. It's just too easy to adjust the exposure in manual or use the exposure compensation .

When a take landscape shots I am usually on my tripod (more expensive then a D40) with cable release, mirror delay, shooting raw and I take multiple views that I photomerge together to get my 40mpixel images.

And I also, exposure and focus bracket when needed. But that's me.