What is a "normal" lens?

david_holland1

Linsday Robb posted a question yesterday about which lens to keep for

a Pentax 645 manual out of a 120 macro and a 150. It was addressed to

people who had both and answered well by several posters. I studied

the question without experience with either, and bought only the 150,

so I wasn�t part of the audience to whom the question was addressed.

For what it�s worth, I have been happy with the choice for the

reasons the posters responded.

That said, the question and responses brought some thoughts to mind

that I didn�t think were sufficiently responsive to post as a

response, but I would like to share for comments.

We all know that normal lenses get their label, at least in part,

because their angle of coverage supposedly covers the same angle of

view as the human eye. However, once upon a time, many, many years

ago, in my 35mm days, I noticed that landscapes and travel images

with �normal� lenses didn�t really look the way I remembered the

scenes. I discovered that lenses in the portrait range more nearly

recorded what I thought I saw.

I recall (hopefully with some accuracy) an article in a photo

magazine by someone who studied paintings by the old masters of

landscapes that are still basically unchanged today. The author went

to the various sites and determined which focal length of lens (for

35mm) would record the apparent perspective that Gainsborough,

Constable, or other artist had recorded in his oil. His conclusion,

expressed in 35mm terms, was that their �focal length� was not

the �normal� one, but rather 85 to 105.

There is, of course, no greater confirmation than someone else,

however studied, saying something that one already himself believes.

Much more recently, in the computer era, I had my monitor refresh

rate set a bit too slow. The flicker was not at all noticeable in the

central area of my vision, but it was annoying in my peripheral