What film should I buy and where can I get quality prints?

<p>In the past I have experimented with B&W photography and have processed my own film and developed my own prints, but I no longer have the resources to do so. I wouldn't mind experimenting with digital photography (I've had my eyes on the Nikon D90 for awhile now), but as a student I don't have the 500 dollars or so to drop on a new camera. My little point and shoot is just not keeping me happy with all of its automatic settings and leaves little room for creativity! In the meantime, I would like to continue to enjoy my photography, but am not sure A) what kind of film to purchase or B) a good lab that would produce quality prints for a reasonable price. <br>

What kind of film should I load into my old Pentax ZX-M? I have always played with B&W, but would also like to try some color film. I am from the St. Louis area, so unless the lab is mail order, labs specific to that region suit me nicely.<br>

Thanks in advance for any helpful responses!</p>

Yeah, I'll give another vote for Kodak Ektar 100. It's kind of finicky about exposure (don't underexpose it!), but the colors are awesome. It has a completely unique look to it that I've never seen before with any other film, or digital for that matter.

Here are some pictures I've taken with Ektar:

Kodak Ektar 100 film

Some "consumer" films are really good too. I like Kodak Gold 200. It has a really nice warm tone to it, which is great for fall landscape photos and pictures of people.

Fuji Reala has nice colors and wide exposure latitude. Fuji Pro 160S or 400H has lower contrast and nice skin tones. For lab processing of B&W, a chromogenic film like Kodak BW400CN or Ilford XP2 may be a safer choice than a traditional B&W film.