what do I buy?!

Discussion in 'Wedding and Event' started by melissa_arcuri|1, Mar 11, 2009.

1. I am starting to shoot weddings again after a two year hiatus. I still shoot film(which I always will for my own stuff) and realize that I need to go digital by the summer. I have read all sorts of stuff, most of which I dont understand. I am not trying to sound pretentious,even though I will, but bottom line...I am a good photographer. I have the ability to anticipate a great shot. My downfalls? I have little to no knowledge of the technical jargon, despit e my degree in photography. I dont care about it. I read these posts about the best cameras and I don t understand what the heck people are talking about.
    I want a SIMPLE explanation to why any given camera is the "best".
    Can anyone help me?
    I have two requests...it must NOT have an on camera flash and must be full-frame.
    THANKS!</

2. What sort of film camera are you using? Are you already invested in lenses that might cross over nicely to the Nikon or Canon full-frame bodies? That's a good place to start your thinking. Otherwise... a pair of Nikon D700 bodies, if you're looking for rugged. Perhaps the Canon 5D MKII, if you're more of a Canonite. You really need to physically pick these two bodies up and touch them. They'll both produce stunning output, and work in low light situations that you (as a film shooter) will find remarkable. But wedding work is about speed and having the equipment not get in your way. The physical ergonomics of the camera would strike me as central to your decision making. You've got to touch them, see where the external controls land under your fingers, etc. And of course, the lens issue.

You may also find Nikon's remote strobe capabilities to be extremely useful. The D700's built-in flash (which you don't have to use as part of the exposure!) can control their pro speedlights, off-camera. Very handy. But there are many ways to tackle that issue, and more every day.