Weird Coloring on my pictures

graceb1010

Hello,

I recently started shooting film on my Pentax K1000. After shooting a few rolls, I noticed that the coloring on about half of the pictures had a brownish tint to them. I exposed most of them the same way and can't figure out what I'm doing wrong. On these I shot with Kodak Gold 200 and had them developed through Walgreens. You can see the brownish one as opposed to the normal looking one. Please help.

IMG_6505.thumb.JPG.c4d3d30f6f29e65afc492263ab736d92.JPG

IMG_6498.thumb.JPG.9d854977fbcbd2dedf8222dcc13ab703.JPG

The film was developed and then printed. The film yields a negative image (colors reversed). The printing step outputs positive pints. Photogrpahy uses the negative / postive process becasue during the printing process color reproduction errors are normally well handled. In this case the machine that did the printing step was not operating at optimum and some of the negatives were printed with an unnatural color bias. Your recouse is to take the film and prints back to the drugstore, show them to the photolab clerk, they should then reprint those biased prints, applying a manual correction. They should make these repirnts as necessay untill you are pleased with the outcome.
  • Like 1

Not necessarily. In-house minilabs are becoming quite scarce to non-existent where I live - aLL the drug stores, grocery stores, and Walmart stopped in-house film work a couple of years ago. There are alternatives such as sending off your films via the mail to specialty labs for processing, or finding a photography shop which does pro-level work (sometimes photography shops run their own in-house minilabs - which are usually run by knowledgible people rather than untrained staff). I'd give your current provider another chance...perhaps get to know the operator/s or when you take things in, at least speak with the operators (not cashiers) to make sure they understand your expectations.
  • Like 1