Wedding photography with 50mm lens.

Discussion in 'Wedding and Event' started by phineas_tarbolde|1, Mar 31, 2010.

1. A friend of mine has asked me to photograph her wedding. I am not a professional, but I've been told I take nice photos. Recently my equipment was stolen. I have a Nikon DX frame (1.5x mag factor) DSLR and a 50mm. 1.4 AF prime lens. No flash other than the built in camera flash for some fill.
    Do you think it is possible to cover an outdoor wedding (afternoon) with a 50mm lens. The wedding will be be fairly small (~10-20 guests). I would step back to get group shots since I dont have a wide angle lens. Obviously the super wide angle shots will not be possible.
    Thoughts? Thanks in advance.

2. There's stepping back, and there's stepping back for group shots with a 50mm lens on a DX body. You could find yourself needing to be over 30 feet away. The real issue then is going to be your ability to communicate with your subjects without shouting at them. Especially if there's music playing, etc.

If you're working outdoors in passable light, you could greatly improve your options by just getting your hands on any of the 18-50/70/105 kit lenses. Perhaps $100 or so, at most? One of those would seem like very cheap insurance against the limitations of having only a 50mm lens for social shooting on a DX body.

Any chance of picking up an SB-600, or at least renting one? Your pop-up strobe is only barely serviceable for fill. Which camera body do you have available? Sorry to hear about the theft of your gear.

3. Let me start with the basic warnings. (1) Don't do this. It looks easy but it's not, and not only is it harder to get good results that you can imagine, it's also rather stressful. (2) You shouldn't even think about shooting a wedding if you don't have a backup camera. (3) If you expect to have to take any flash photos, be aware that the results you'll get with your on-camera flash are simply not going to be very appealing.