Wedding outdoor group shots - Ranger RX; Overkill?

johngodwin

<p>I have an Elinchrom Ranger RX for a wedding I'm shooting on Saturday. It's my first time using it, and I'm going to be using it with a 1 meter softbox for the outdoor group shot consisting of 24 people.<br>

Does this sound like a bad idea to anyone? Portability and weight is absolutely not an issue.<br>

Thanks.</p>

<p>It would seem to be a waste, in my mind. The softbox is too small to soften the light enough at the distance you need to use the light to cover a group shot of 24 people. And portability and weight may not be an issue, but knock over and set up time could be.</p>

<p>For groups, skip the softbox, as Nadine points out, the lighting is going to be hard regardless. The Ranger will give you more options. One example, perhaps you want the background (ambient light) to be 1/2 to 1-stop darker; the Ranger should have the juice to still expose your group properly. Whether the options are worth the trouble, only you can decide.</p>

<p>The size of the modifier is the issue, John. So unless your umbrella is pretty big, you might as well use direct flash. A 60" (5 foot) umbrella will make a difference over your 1 meter softbox, but it still won't exactly be 'soft' lighting on your group of 24. To give you an idea, the rule of thumb is to have a modifier/light size the same as the distance you are from your subject. Figure this out. For a tightly packed group of 24 (say 3 rows of 8), you will probably be standing 12 or more feet from your subjects with a 35mm or wider focal length. So your modifier 'should' be 12 feet big. See what I mean?</p>

<p>Also, depending upon what the outdoor circumstances were (bright sun or shade), soft light may or may not make any difference. With bright sun, the light is hard anyway. With shade, direct flash, used only to provide some direction to the light, will not look so harsh because it isn't the main or key light.</p>