wedding model release

jonathanowen

<p>Hi all - new to the forum so look forward to making new contacts.</p>

<p>Has anyone ever had an issue with model release relating to wedding guests. I would normally expect wedding guests to be happy for their images to be used following a wedding - one assumes that if they are a guest they are friendly with the bride and groom and want to comply with their wishes. However, I recently met a a mad old boot who is making a stink following a recent wedding job. It seems he has fallen out with the wedding couple and wants to eb tricky.<br>

Do the normal model release rules apply for weddings or is the legal standing different?<br>

Many thanks for your help<br>

JO<br>

</p>

<p>I'm not a lawyer but I've never heard of model releases from a wedding unless it's to use a picture in your advertising, and then it's something that can be built into the contract. I think the legal distinction (not being a lawyer) is that putting wedding pictures into an album and giving them to the bride and groom does not constitute "publishing" the photos. But again I am not a lawyer.</p>

<p>There's a widespread misconception that you need a model release in order to show images on your website. You don't.</p>

<p>You <em>do </em> need a model release if you are transferring all image rights to a third-party; or if you are using the image directly or indirectly in a commercial context other than the one in which the image was taken. You <em>don't</em> need a model release if you are displaying the image in an editorial context where the depiction is documentary and based on the true circumstance behind the image.</p>