Website Comments

phil_cuddy

<p>Hi all,<br>

<br />i have spent the past few weeks rebuilding my website, and would appreciate any comments. <br>

http://rapscallion.eu/<br>

As an amateur photographer I initially built the website purely as an exercise to better my web knowledge. I am now quite happy with the overall format, but not 100% sure that the navigation within the site is optimal. i have 2 categories - photo's and blog - that separate, well, words from pictures. The 'words' part of the site is quite sparse at the moment, but as i have ideas I intend to build this section into my own "body of knowledge" on photography, as much for my own reference as for the viewers interest, but hopefully the 2 align.<br />Looking forward to your feedback.<br>

Regards,</p>

<p>The large images on the opening-page make it load very slowly. They also make it hard to find all the links and information at the bottom of the page.<br /> If you want a "theme" set of images on the home-page, I'd:</p>

<ol>

<li>Make them smaller</li>

<li>Use a slide-show to show them in sequence</li>

</ol>

<p>Ex: <a href="http://moving-target-photos.com/">http://moving-target-photos.com/</a></p>

<p>The "Photos" page also loads very slowly because there are many large images.<br>

A couple of suggestions for that. You could use a thumbnails for navigation/browsing. If you really like the large images, add "width" and "height" attributes to the img-tags; with that information, most browsers will layout the page and load the images "in place", which can make the page appear to load a bit faster.</p>