Web hosting for a complete beginner, any suggestions?

jeff_rivera5

So one of my new years resolutions was to put up a website with some

of my photos. Here it is Febuary 10th and I've done NOTHING!

Anyway, I'm looking for the idiots version of web site building.

Any company's catering to neophyte web masters? I'd want to post 25-

100 images at any time, plus have some pages for my own babel.

thanks,<div>007LbH-16577184.jpg.7a35883ffc814cdab1cf532873c34c25.jpg</div>

if you are a microsoft office kinda guy, i think most web hosters can use your front page- built web pages. the pages are pretty what-you-see-is what-you-get, and the software has some handy features such as site cataloging and site mapping, both of which will help you with the maintenance and usability of your site. <br />

for free hosting, you really should read the fine print very very carefully. you may not own your images on the site. and if i'm not mistaken, photo.net is very much like this -- you surrender your copyright when you upload to photo.net. <br />

good luck,

One possibility is to set up some folders on photo.net. The next step is to do some photo.net presentation pages which permit basic html design enhancement. The advantage of doing this is that someone else is responsible for site maintenance and takes care of things like formatting pages, creating thumbnails, etc. I maintain a small site for photo subjects of a rather specialized nature, but I really appreciate the opportunities photo.net provides for quick and easy display of my work to a wide audience.

I don't believe that it is accurate to say that you give up your copyright to your material when it is uploaded to photo.net. Read the <a href="http://www.photo.net/terms-of-use">terms of use</a>. Its seems clear to me that photo.net is just setting some common sense ground rules about how the photos posted there will be displayed. Violating copyright would not be a winning strategy for attacting participants.