Warning to those who ship equipment by UPS or FedEx

<p>A word of warning to those who ship expensive equipment by way of UPS or FedEx.<br>

I have an expensive Nikon 200-400 lens that has been having some autofocus issues, so I thought I would send it to Nikon’s eastern repair facility to have them check out the autofocus. I planned to insure the lens for loss or damage through UPS for $5,000, which is what I paid for it when I purchased it from an individual several years ago. Also, $5,000 looks like a reasonable used value for a lens in the condition that mine is in—at least, I don’t think I would have any problem selling mine on the used market for $5,000.<br>

Despite the fact that I have been shipping things through UPS and FedEx for many years, I decided to check—for the first time in all the years I have been using these shippers—on the policies of UPS and FedEx to see what the procedure is for payment in the event of loss. This is what I found out: No matter where you set the value of the item you are shipping and no matter how much money you invest in ‘insurance’ for that item, you will receive <em>nothing</em> in compensation for the item if it is lost or destroyed if you do not have the original receipt for the item that shows how much <em>you</em> paid for it. I spoke with representatives of UPS and FedEx on the phone today, and this is the policy for both of them. I asked representatives from both companies this question: If I could prove that the market value for a lens that I want to ship is $5,000—perhaps I had it appraised by a reliable appraiser just before it was shipped—would that compensate for the absence of a receipt showing what I had paid for it? The answer in both cases was “NO. If you are unable to provide an original receipt, you will not receive any compensation.”<br>