Warming Up to Football Season

wilsontsoi

Zack,

"Walkin' the line" is a nice shot. "Solo Tackle," though, could be cropped tighter and/or been shot from a better angle. The empty stands in the image also hurt the composition. [if you watch a NASCAR race, you'll notice the ABC/ESPN cameramen try to keep empty grandstands out of the frame!]

But!!

The "Solo Tackle" shot of your son's great play is a sentimental favorite in your family: Even though you have a bad angle, it's a play where you & your son can look at the picture and be reminded of it.

If Friday night games are on your son's schedule, consider investing in brighter glass, as high school stadium lighting is about 40 footcandles, i.e. over four stops dimmer than daylight.

Dan: Thanks for your feedback. I'm new at this game so any advice is greatly appreciated. I'm one of two photographers that will be covering the games this year. What we try to do is split the field in half at the 50 yard line. I'll work on half and he works the other.

The reason the stands are empty in the "Solo Tackle" picture is because that was a scrimmage game, though I will keep in mind to avoid empty grandstands if at all possible.

Most of his games will be at night and I'll be shooting with 200mm f/2.8L lens. I'm considering the 85mm 1.8 for the 4th quarter as I have a tough time getting shots that aren't blurry even when shooting at f/2.8 and ISO 1600.

I discovered this one as I was going through my images from the scrimmage game. Although you probably can't make it out in this small version but I captured the coin as it was being tossed. Look between the two black posts on the top row of seats and you can see it.<div>00MKht-38123284.JPG.3a96d7fafb3709dd3a28da094e8b84e8.JPG</div>