Warming Filters and Digital W.B.

markogden

My apologies if this has been covered before: here is a question a photo buddy and I have been going

around about, perhaps members will weigh in with their experiences:

Let�s say that you have a D200, or any other digital camera with an auto white balance function. You

attach an 812 or 81A or B warming filter to the lens and take a picture with the camera in Auto White

mode. Does the picture warm up?

My friend says yes. I say no, because the camera�s auto white function would subtract the warmer element

of the light and balance out to whatever it was going to be in the first place.

What really happens, and why? (This is also a � assed way to ask if there is any point in investing in a

�warming� polarizer, or just a plain vanilla one).

Thanks!

IMX, auto WB does get fooled by a warming filter. Until I started shooting digital I used Nikon Conversion A2 (same as 81A) on all my lenses as warming and protection. This worked well with Velvia and Provia but not so much with E100VS (which has an annoying habit of turning red at the slightest excuse).

However, after getting a DSLR I immediately noticed the shots *without* a warming filter have better out of the camera color balance in JPEGs (I shot JPG+RAW). With the A2 filters D70 showed a tendancy to underexpose and greens had a dull-yellowish tint with a very slight hint of red (nothing that you couldn't correct in RAW processing). I transitioned all warming filter to exclusive film shoots and started using Nikon L37C or B+W UV MRC F-PRO for my digital shoots. So far so good. Not that now auto WB behaves itself all the time, but relatively more consistent results.

"if there is any point in investing in a ýwarmingý polarizer, or just a plain vanilla one"

I'd say a plain vanilla one. Why lose whatever additional small amount of EV due to warming filter loss? Effect of pol cannot be easily duplicated in photoshop, but warming effect can be applied very easily.