Wacom tablet comparison and questions.

<p>Hey all,</p>

<p>I am a serious amatuer with my photography, and have been considering jumping into using a Wacom tablet for about a year now. I use a Canon 40D with some L lenses and some of the better non-L lenses from Canon. I don't have unlimited money to throw at this, and would like some opinions from those that use Intuos4 and Bamboo/Fun models. I like the medium size of both tablets, and obviously the price point of the bamboo fun (~$160) is attractive as opposed to the $340 price of the Intuos4. </p>

<p>So is the savings worth it? I am not an artist in the traditional sense. I will use this mainly for touching up photographs, masking, and general PS tasks. </p>

<p>Does the Wacom also work with the touchup tools in Lightroom? </p>

<p>Thanks for your opinions.</p>

<p>Troy</p>

<p>It seems that I do a bit more of PP than you so I'm gonna save you some money. At work I use the Intuos 4 and it's without question terrific although not cheap. At home I use a Bamboo and frankly for me it works just as well with the added bonus that it has a smaller size. $70-80 and you're at it.</p>

<p>Have fun.</p>

<p>The Bamboo is terrific. The only complication is that you need to be aware of the fact that effective use of a Wacom requires a full understanding of how that relates to parameters and controls in Photoshop that are not usually an issue, using a mouse. These complications have "bamboozled" a lot of users, but have at it, and ask here if you run into complications!<br>

There are also issues if you use 64-bit Vista vs. 32-bit, Mac vs. PC. But I think the Bamboo in general is great and much underrated.</p>

<p><em>"...of how that relates to parameters and controls in Photoshop that are not usually an issue, using a mouse"</em><br>

<em><br /> </em><br>