VR on Super-Tele (I don't get it!)

Rick Waller

I shoot sideline sports and was on the verge of dropping $7.500 on a Nikon

400/2.8. Now that the new one has arrived with VR - I need someone to explain

to me how VR helps if a 400mm/2.8 lens is ALWAYS on either a monopod or a

tripod.

I am 6'1", 200 lb guy in good shape and I wouldn't dream of handholding that

monster. Exactly why would I lust for VR on big glass??

As I see it, it is a great opportunity to snap up a non-VR version at a reduced

price, now that everyone else is going to race out an buy the VR version. What

am I missing?

A monopod isn't perfectly stable, so the VR should help there.

I'm no upper-body monster, but I hand-held Canon's 400mm f/2.8 (which I'll bet is heavier than the Nikon) for a couple of hours (intermittently) recently. It was a chore, but doable.

Not that I'm a professional, but this seems like a no-brainer to me. I see all sorts of "sideline shooters" with thier lenses mounted on monopods. Call me shakey, but I've never been able to get a good shot with a monopod. VR would be a huge advantage in this situation.

As Geoff said, there are times when you won't be able or willing to use a tripod (at least

that's the case for many of us). Besides the possibility of hand-holding, which I do

routinely for shots of flying birds with a Canon 500/4 IS, you might be working from

inside a vehicle -- a very good way to get wildlife shots. Or you might use a monopod for

greater mobility.

Even on a solid tripod, when you get down to moderate and low shutter speeds,

stabilization is a great help. And if you are trying to track a moving subject, you can't

'lock down' the tripod head for rigidity, and here again, a stabilized lens is a big help.

This is very good news for Nikon owners interested in sports and wildlife photography.

Who knows the new lens features? If it advices to turn Off the VR on a tripod, or even on a monopod, how that would work for you?