Voigtlander vs. Contax Opinions needed

sattler123

Hello all,

I am an avid amateur photographer and use both film and digital equipment

(35mm, Canon 5D, Mamiya 645, 4x5 and 8x10)and shoot mostly landscape, macro

and some portraiture. I am thinking about getting into the world of

Rangefinder focusing. I want a rather modern camera with metering capabilities

and the option to have AE program available.

The modern Leica offerings with that type of functionality are out of my

league. I looked at the Voigtlander and modern Contax G2 cameras and found

them quite appealing - well until I held a Contax G2 in my hands and listened

to the focus motor wine away - it is very noisy and defeats the prupose of a

rangefinder in my opinion.

I would like to hear from folks who use the Voigtlanders (especially the RA

series) how they like their cameras and lenses and also from Contax G users -

because the fact is that I could always shut off the autofocus system.

Any other manufacturers I should look at?

Thank You for your help and Happy Holidays

Juergen, I wouldn't discount the G2 until you've seen what its lenses can do. I just shot my first roll of Kodak E100G slide film with the 35-70mm zoom, which, btw is considered inferior in the G lens lineup, and I must tell you, the quality of the images simply took my breath away.

I had the CV R3A and liked it performance but found it too angular in build to hold comfortably (being picky). Surprisingly, I enjoy the R-D1 (similar body) and the R2, so go figure. I have many CV lenses and think the 50mm Nokton is amazing (lots of samples here and on RFF), the CV 40/1.4 is a great value, and the most surprising lens of all to me was the 15mm Heliar, which I take with my R-D1 just about everywhere. Btw, the CV 75/2.5 is superb, there are is a thread on it on RFF with examples.

Andy