Voicemail I got today

missy_kay

<p>"Hi this is Doreen, I'm also a photographer and saw your ad. I was wondering if you have any spill over dates for this year because I'm trying to book more weddings. So if you could send me the bride's contact at my e-mail XX@X.com. I would appreciate it. Thanks!"</p>

<p>Thoughts?!</p>

<p>Well, she obviously thinks highly enough of you and the image you convey to imagine that you're getting more work than you can handle. If <em>she</em> thinks that, then hopefully that also means you can be pickier about your prospective customers, and charge more. <br /><br />How much you want to help your competition (who could also be the person who bails you out when you get the flu a day before a wedding you've booked), look at this from a few different directions.</p>

<p>She's obviously desperate however she is approaching this the wrong way. Partnerships need to have a win/win and she is not thinking in these terms. Seems like she wants you to throw her work but she does not want to spend any time developing a relationship with you.</p>

<p>Before you think about giving her any work, you should check out her portfolio since your reputation is on the line.</p>

<p>If you have a reputation as an excellent photographer, you certainly CANNOT pass on a recommendation to a client that they work with a photographer you are not familiar with. Meet her first, and get to know her work. You will have to determine if you can work together, before you send referals her way. As has already been mentioned, you could develop a positive working relationship. On the other hand, this could be a desperate and pathetic bottom-feeder, so be careful.</p>

<p>Sounds fishy to me. It would be a different story if she had left a message along the lines of "I love your work, your style is similar to mine, why don't we meet and see if our personal styles/work ethic etc. mesh and be each other's back-up in case one of us is sick, the date is booked etc."<br>