Vivitar 28-70mm 1:3.8-4.8 Macro Focusing Canon FD lens removal.

anna_spengler

<p>Hi! I am just getting into film photography (I'm a journalism student and have a few photography classes), so I got a Canon t70 to experiment with. It came with this lens. I wanted to buy different lenses since macro photography isn't really what I'm into but I can't figure out how to remove the lens and didn't want to get ahead of myself buying more without having figured out a simple thing like that. I searched Google and read the t70 manual but they all talk about a release button that I can't seem to find on this lens. I was wondering if anyone here could help me with that. Thanks in advance.</p>

<p >Look at your lens where it attaches to the camera. Is there a knurled ring connecting the lens to the camera? If so, twist the ring counterclockwise until it stops. Then remove the lens from the camera. If there's no knurled ring, there should be a button on the lens mount. Press in this button, then turn the lens counterclockwise until it comes off.</p>

<p>Note also that "Macro Focusing" just means the lens is <em>capable </em>of macro focus, but is perfectly fine for normal photography as well. Certainly don't want to discourage you from trying other lenses, but 28-70mm is a useful focal length range for starting out in film photography, so if you're on a budget it could serve you well for a while.</p>

<p>I thought I'd add just a bit to this discussion from a technique standpoint. But first a point of clarification. The Canon New FD lenses are the ones with the button. All others use a rotating breechlock ring, including all Vivitars. With the exception of Sigma lenses. Sigma came up with a clever breechlock mount using a button that mimics Canon's New FD mount without being New FD. But that doesn't apply here, so anyway . . .</p>