Virtual Photo Tours for Class

farukhcasy2

Hey everyone! I'm a photography teacher and a project I give out is to visit a local photographer run gallery with monthly changing shows. It's a great little place and really opens the students eyes to the experience that they would normally never choose to go to. I tell my students to choose a few specific pieces to write about, talk about the exhibit as a whole, and then write about the experience of visiting they gallery itself. I encourage them to truly write how they feel, and they usually enjoy seem to enjoy it.

Obviously with the pandemic we're dealing with at the moment I can't send them out and the gallery itself is closed. If you haven't already guessed, my question is, are there any virtual gallery/museum tours that are photography specific that I can send my students to? I know there's a whole list of museums and galleries out there with free virtual tours, but I cannot for the life of me find anything photography specific. It doesn't have to be famous works or artists. Thank you for any leads!

Hi, I don't know what level of students you teach but here are some links. One you might interested in Coursera's free on-line course 'Seeing through Photographs'. It's based on a selection of photo's in the MoMa's collection. Students need to enrol online.

Other collections:

International Center of Photography

CCP

MOCP

Aperture

Photography now

Hope this helps,

Mike

• Like 1

Hey everyone! I'm a photography teacher and a project I give out is to visit a local photographer run gallery with monthly changing shows. It's a great little place and really opens the students eyes to the experience that they would normally never choose to go to. I tell my students to choose a few specific pieces to write about, talk about the exhibit as a whole, and then write about th

192.168.0.1 routerlogin 192.168.l.l