Viewfinder Size : Nikon D2x.

gan_esh

I'm finally going digital after many years of 35mm & 645/6x7.

I currently own both Nikon & Canon lenses for 35mm (don't ask why)

and so the two cameras I'm looking out for are the D2x or 1ds mk2.

I'm a fashion/portrait photographer and 90 percent of my paid

assignments are indoors in my studio. I mostly shoot at ISO 100 or

160 and never go above 400, so high ISO noise isn't an issue for me.

This is why I'm leaning towards the D2x. I lot of my peers who use

Canon 1ds mk2's, 5d's, d1x's and Leaf 22mp backs say the d2x give

better skin tones than what they use. Some even go as far as saying

that if they could turn back time, they'd get a D2x.

I have no problem with the 1.5 crop factor and I like the idea of

using the centre portion of the lens (just makes sense). My only

worry is the viewfinder size of APS type slr's. I love the viewfinder

on my F6. I tried a friend's Eos 5d the other day and like the

viewfinder also. I absolutely hate the viewfinders on the d70, S3pro,

and 10d/20d/350d!

How large is the D2x viewfinder compared with my F6 or 1ds mk2/5d? My

camera store doesn't have one in stock at the moment, thet's why I'm

posting this question.

Thanx in advance. Cheerz!

Merry X-Mas and a Happy New Year.

Scott, Gan said, "I have no problem with the 1.5 crop factor and I like the idea of using the centre portion of the lens (just makes sense)".

Your off topic since we all know Nikon ain't makin FF dslr's. You and I would both like Nikon to offer one but they are not listenning to us.

On the topic, what you see is what you get in the D2x finder and its large and clear. I have the d70 and it has a POS rinky dink finder but thats not because of the 1.5x crop factor.

The D2x finders shows everything you will get in the picture and guys with glasses will not have trouble seeing thru viewfinder. I wear glasses and the finder display is easy on the eyes.