Very slow Sony 64 XQD card download (Z6)

Jean-Claude

It took me +/- 30 minutes to download via card reader the 1214 pictures registred on this card (64 gigas)

It takes far less with 64gigas SD cards in my Nikon D610.

Why this huge difference and how download XQD card faster?

Thank you for your precious help.

I suspect the no-name XQD reader could the culprit. I am not an expert on card readers, but have experienced that a good reader is faster than directly from the camera.

My experience stems from an Z6ii with a 125gb Sony Tough CFexpress card. Download speed improved greatly when I started using a well reviewed ProGrade reader. I thought it was expensive for "just a reader", but since I also needed something to read SD UHS-II, I bit the bullet and I have not regretted it.

• Like 1
Niels

Maybe somebody builds card readers just up to USB2 specs, as indicated by your download time? The color of the plastic inside the plug could give a hint, USB3 would be blue.

My USB slot is not blue, so USB2.

How can I make it faster? Change reader I guess?

I suspect the no-name XQD reader could the culprit. I am not an expert on card readers, but have experienced that a good reader is faster than directly from the camera.

My experience stems from an Z6ii with a 125gb Sony Tough CFexpress card. Download speed improved greatly when I started using a well reviewed ProGrade reader. I thought it was expensive for "just a reader", but since I also needed something to read SD UHS-II, I bit the bullet and I have not regretted it.

What is the name of that reader and to which price please? You have an USB 2 or 3 slot?

For a while I had very slow upload speed from a CFexpress card reader. It turned out to be the USB cable I used. With a different cable, the speed was much faster.

Sounds like it is among your USB port, cable, and card reader.

Edited by ShunCheung
  • Like 1

What is the name of that reader and to which price please? You have an USB 2 or 3 slot?