UV light source for Platinum Printing

julia_pierce

I'm setting up my own darkroom, and I'd like some advice on UV light

sources. I'm not technical enough to build my own, and the weather

where I live is too unreliable to depend on the sun. I'm looking

for a tabletop unit, and I probably won't be making any prints

larger than 11 x 17. Any opinions and/or advice would be greatly

appreciated. Thanks.

At the lab I work at for platium paladium printing they use a light box. Its a box about 3 feet long, 2 feet wide, and only about 12 inches deep. It has not BOTTOM on the box, then on the inside there is about 6 of those long tube lights. The photo people built it out of pywood and stuff you can get at Home Depot really.

When you use it, you just lift it up, sent your contact printer under there, flip on the light with the timer, then lift it up and take it out! Its really simple and SUPER bright for platnium printing.

Just a cheep "do it yourself" sorta project you can do. Otherwise, I think you will have to find a old time Contact printer where it is just a light bulb hanging from a cord that you can raise and lower. I would recommed a R-40 300 watt light bulb, which can be picked up at most hardware stores.

Best of luck! Platinum printing is beautiful and also very very expensive. If you dont find what your looking for here...I would contact Kim Weston (decendent of Edward Weston) since this whole year he is working with platnium and offering many workshops also. Hes a VERY nice guy and very knowledgeable. www.KimWeston.com

Ryan McIntosh

www.RyanMcIntosh.net

Julia

If you can find one, get ahold of an old brochure from Palladio in Cambridge MA, as they had detailed isntructions on building them using simple materials. If you can not do it, any reasonably handy person can do it in a evening or two.