UV Filter Issues

pcassity

I am a real estate photographer. I use a D750 with the Nikon 20mm f1.8 lens. Recently I have noticed a considerable number of flare spots when shooting rooms with considerable sunlight. Certainly, I try to shoot angles that minimize the sun but its not always possible. I purchased a B+W UV Filter for the lens to see if it would help to reduce the flare and,_DSC5205.thumb.jpg.11873cf923714e27f9500ec3bf126016.jpg _DSC5206.thumb.jpg.1d6752a500f6adeed949c8f3aec553f4.jpg in fact it has. However, I am noticing that the filter is giving the edges of the photos a greenish tint. Is this a normal occurrence with a UV filter? I have attached two photos. The first is with the filter and the other is without. Thanks!

For a 20mm super wide angle, light hitting the edges of the frame would go through considerably more filter thickness. Perhaps that introduces the green tint??

BTW, I doubt that a UV or any filter will decrease flare. If anything, a filter might increase it.

A lens hood or some kind of shade can cut down the amount of flare, but obviously that is hard to apply with a super wide.

The Hoya UV+IR filter works on the interference principle. Multiple layers of coatings are spaced to block UV and IR while passing visible light. The transmission changes as the angle of incidence increases, which increases the effective thickness of the coating, hence the frequencies of light it blocks. A 20 mm lens is a very wide angle, which is probably responsible for the color shift at the edges of the frame. Increasing the path length would move the corner* value to longer wavelengths, impinging on the visible pass band.