Using 7d with 100-400l looking to upgrade glass for nature and sports?

richard_moran

I'm currently shooting a 7d with a 100-400l. Success rate of shots isn't that good, I'm not getting many sharp pics as hoped for. I've

seen reviews of 7d not getting good results with this lens so I'm considering going to 500 f/4 and selling 100-400. All input is appriciated

as I'm no pro. I'm interested mainly in wildlife and also some sports. I often shoot hand held and shoot from my kayak.

<p>The 500/4 is a great lens, but it is very heavy for hand held work, though it isn't impossible. I have no idea how you would shoot from a kayak with such a rig. A 7D + 500/4 will weigh over 10 pounds and will be about 18 inches long.</p>

<p>You might spend some time analyzing the unsharp photos to see if technique could fix it. Why are they not sharp? Is the lens not sharp, was the focus wrong, shutter speed too slow, IS ineffective?</p>

<p>I have 7D, 100-400 and 300/f2.8. The pictures I got using 300/f2.8 are sharper than 100-400, but not of huge difference.<br />I suggest you put the 100-400 on tripod, use live view 10X to focus manually, and shoot a non-moving target. If you are not satisfy with the sharpness, then it is your 100-400 that causes problem.</p>

<p>I had so much fun and such a high success rate shooting with my 7D and 100-400mm on my Bald Eagle trip in the Skagit Valley, from a raft.<br />But I can totally imagine how it is even harder from a kayak!<br />I didnt get the shot I wanted but I blame that totally on me. The Servo on the 7D works so great and the combination with the 100-400 is perfect. I'd practise a bit harder and, ideally, try another sample of the same lens (a friend?) to see if it's your lens or yourself. Good luck!</p>

<p>Whenever I hear someone say a particular lens doesn't produce good results, it usually means one of three things.<br>

1) The lens is bad (poor optical quality)<br>

2) The lens is out of tolerance and needs adjustment<br>