URGENT Question on Depth of Field w. Point & Shoots

rebecca_soto

<p>Hi,<br>

Im a college student taking a beginner photography class. Most of the class, including myself, uses a point and shoot digital camera. I personally have a Nikon Coolpix s210. I am having incredible difficulty trying to create a photo that demonstrates the concept of "depth of field". If someone could give me some tips or give me a way to complete this assignment please help me out and respond. Thank You.</p>

<p>B.</p>

<p>Point and shoots would make it difficult to obtain a shallow depth of field because of the incredibly small sensor.<br>

Set the ISO to as low as you could get. Put the camera on portrait mode and zoom to the fullest extent. Now ensure that your subject is at least 20 metres in front of whatever you are using as a backdrop.</p>

<p>The simple answers given above are leading your astray and as a student I would hope you would be given correct answers. <br>

The sensor size has absolutely nothing to do with depth of field except with regard to the amount of magnification required for a print of a given size. In which case the P&S because of its small sensor requires greater magnification for a print of a given size so therefore has LESS Dof.<br>

What affects depth of field in the focal length of the lens in use. In this case the P&S has a very short focal length so it inherently has a lot of depth of field. You can demonstrate this by taking a photo with objects quite close to the camera along with objects a fair way away from the camera. Done properly all will be in focus ... you may need to take several shots until you find my experimentation the depth of field your camera has given the conditions.<br>