Unwanted "bands" in skies

I am new to digital photography. I have noticed in images featuring open skies

unwanted bands crossing the image. In the accompanying image, the band, or

line, reddish in color, crosses the entire sky, from left to right, just above

the top of the rock formation. I have noticed this effect both on the monitor

and in prints in more than one photograph. What causes this effect? How can I

correct it? I use a d70, shoot jpeg, and use the simplest enhancement tools on

elements 2. Thanks. Bill<div>00KFWr-35364384.jpg.6421c6436578bc571e473f6c881bee4f.jpg</div>

Eric,

When you say it doesn't seem like an elements 2 job, what do you mean? Can I shoot in raw mode and edit raw files in elements 2? As I said, I am a beginner in digital photography. Would another software application be better for editing raw files? Which suitable software would be most user-friendly for a beginner? A part of me wants to avoid having to learn anything new as far as digital photograhy goes, for I am generally interested in traditional b&w photography, but I do carry a digital camera and results like the image I posted seem unacceptable to me. Thanks for your replies. Bill

Hi Bill. Were the bands there before editing? If not, then it's probably a case of over boosting levels, for example. I understand that the newer versions of Elements allow you to edit in raw. Raw files can take more extreme boosting before things such as bands appear. Learning a bit more about digital editing might help you with shots such as yours above: You could learn how to edit the sky and the ground separately, possibly, in this case, brightening the ground while leaving the sky alone.

Bill!