I am quite new to photography so I apologise if this sounds like a

stupid question but I cant find any info on these questions on the

net. Could anyone explain the basics in the different types of films

and processing? eg: What is the difference between Fujichrome and

Fuji Colour Print? Why are some of these films listed as 36 exp and

also as a 120 roll? What is E6 and C41 processing? I shoot mainly

indoor bodybuilding competitions and have so far only used 400 and

800 Fuji Superia, had good results but when enlarged I could do with

a bit sharper image any suggestions on a better film?

Regards

T.

Let's see.

Most (all?) films with the term "chrome" in the name are slide film.

36exp almost always refers to 135 (ie 35mm) film. 120 film is a different sized film (6cm wide) that works in medium format cameras.

E6 processing is for slides.

C41 is the name for standard color processing, but you will find a few B&W films that use this process.

As far as which film to use, there are lots of variables in getting sharp shots, and you have not given us enough information to really help you. How large an enlargement are you after? What exposure settings do you normally use? With tripod or without? (I'm intentionally leaving out which lens you used, but knowing wouldn't hurt).

Considering you're new to photography, I'd look at your technique as opposed to worrying too much about film or equipment. Although I wouldn't necessarily shoot Superia, you can get acceptably sharp 8x10's out of it. The sharpest hand-held photos I've seen are actaully from marksmen; they are really practiced at keeping their hand steady. At least one I know commonly hand-holds a full stop or two below what I can reliably accomplish.

-Sandro

From Tauseef's thread on the Canon EOS forum:<P>