TV news in a postmodern world...

I've been reading this series and haven't been very impressed. I think it would be more accurately titled, "TV news in the Internet age."

There's a basic fallacy in this rejection of editorial control, which can be neatly illustrated by looking at the information on photo.net through the eyes of a complete newbie to photography. There's also a basic fallacy in the notion that news can be a conversation, which is neatly illustrated by posting a criticism of the war on terror on the Leica forum. ;-)

I thought it was an interesting article that brought up some good points. It has been a long time since I've bothered to look at any of the big network news shows on a regular basis, the reason being that they are so entirely predictable. I'm watch PBS less all the time too for the same reason - they have been giving way too much time to the official spokesman types.<br>    Something the article didn't mention which I think is interesting is the robotic editorial process pioneered by Google News. I think it produces some genuinely interesting diversity in a compact format. That I read every morning.

I think both editorial news and "conversation news" both can be

good. Editorial news are more static while conversations range

from the worst to extremely interesting. Honestly, I loved most of

the OT (political/news) threads in the leica forum before they

started to clamp down. Anyway, what is news? More

importantly, how do YOU qualify what credible news are?

Is it CNN because they are 24 hours and most resourceful?

Is it AFP, AP, Reuter because they are more raw?

Is it a specific personality i.e. columnist / pj s with a known point

of view?

Is it NPR or BBC because they are radio oriented and have less

corporate sponsers / influence

Is it national geographic because of their assignments are more

indepth from hindsight point of views?

Is it a some blogger because he's got no one to answer to?